Friday, April 18, 2008

Meet a Science Fiction Writer

Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America was founded in 1965. Today, SFWA's 1500 members include most professional writers of science fiction and fantasy in North America, and many from elsewhere in the universe.

At its annual awards banquet, SFWA presents the Nebula Awards® for best fiction in several categories. This year Austin is hosting the awards ceremony.

There will be a group signing open to the public, hosted by BookPeople, at the Omni Hotel, Friday, April 25, 5:30 pm – 8:00 pm.

Some of the confirmed participants for the Mass Autographing are:

Neal Barrett, Jr.
Steven Gould
Joe Haldeman
Candace Havens
Kij Johnson
Ellen Kushner
Joe R. Lansdale
Ardath Mayhar
Jack McDevitt
Laura Mixon
Elizabeth Moon
Michael Moorcock
Christine Rose
Stanley Schmidt
Delia Sherman

The final ballot for the 2007 Nebula Awards for best novel:

Ragamuffin by Tobias Bucknell

Yiddish Policeman’s Union by Michael Chabon

The Accidental Time Machine by Joe Haldeman

New Moon’s Arms by Nalo Hopkins

Odyssey by Jack McDevitt

For more recommended science fiction and fantasy titles please look at APL’s
Best Recent Science Fiction and Fantasy book list.

No comments: