Wednesday, April 09, 2008

The Pulitzers!

The 2008 Pulitzers have been announced. Awarded annually since 1917 by Columbia University, the Pulitzer Prize is widely considered to be our nation’s highest achievement in print journalism and literature. This year’s recipients continue a strong tradition of excellence.

The inimitable Robert Haas adds to his 2007 National Book Award in Poetry. Junot Diaz collects another award to share shelf-space with his 2007 National Book Critics Circle Award in Fiction.

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Junot Diaz)

What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1815-1848 (Daniel Walker Howe)

Eden’s Outcasts: the Story of Louisa May Alcott and her Father (John Matteson)

Time and Materials (Robert Haas)
Failure (Philip Schultz)

The Years of Extermination: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1939-1945 (Saul Friedlander)

The Austin Public Library owns all these titles. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao was the Faulk Central Library Book Club’s January selection. Give it a whirl and let us know what you think. If there is enough interest, we will add it to the summer book club schedule for a second go-round.

No comments: